Old Lower Shotover Bridge
In 1871 the first bridge across the Shotover River opened, servicing miners, farmers and merchants until it was washed away in 1878 by flooding.
A new bridge was opened further upstream in 1915, the site of the current “Old” Shotover Bridge;
In the early twenty-first century, the old Lower Shotover Bridge no longer carried vehicle traffic, having been superseded in 1975 by the new bridge. Instead it was primarily used as a support for an irrigation pipeline. As such, the bridge had deteriorated due to neglect and in 2003 it was proposed that the structure should be restored.
The project, which got underway in 2004, was organised by the Rotary Shotover Bridge Restoration Trust. The Rotary Club of Queenstown sourced around $700,000 for the project and subsequently received an International Rotary Award for one of the best 30 Rotary projects in the world.
Today, the bridge forms an important part of the Queenstown Trail and provides sweeping views from both sides - The Remarkables to the South and Coronet Peak to the North. A perfect opportunity to stop and soak up the picturesque surroundings.